Notes from a LiteraryVixen

Snarks and Randoms for Your Enlightenment.

Retracting Before Impact. March 21, 2008

Filed under: Dating,Philosophy — theliteraryvixen @ 6:35 pm

This morning, I stopped at a gas station for coffee and cigarettes on my way to work (just for the record: Open Pantry has a lovely Fair Trade Organic blend!). While filling my cup, the radio station over the store loudspeaker caught my attention.

The local teenybopper station was interviewing folks about something exciting or new that they’ve done in the last year (I don’t know why; you would think this would be more appropriate in January, right?). One caller said that he’d “had [his] first hook-up with a chubby girl, and it wasn’t as bad as [he] thought it would be.”

That caught me off guard.

I was almost offended, but just for a fraction of a second. And then I thought “I hope a lot of people heard that.” Because, you know, it’s NOT that bad!

For those of you who don’t know me, who happened on this blog randomly: I am not a skinny girl. Far from it, in fact. But it doesn’t really bother me that much, to be honest with you. The only thing that really embarrasses me about my weight on a regular basis is the perception that people either think that I am or that I should be bothered by it. And, being who I am, that in and of itself bothers me enough that I never want to let people see me thinking about my weight . . . never see me struggle with it.

This is not to say that I would not like to lose weight and be healthier. It’s more of a matter of liking who I am; owning my faults for what they are and living with the consequences of my own actions.

But back to the topic at hand: the radio show and its young-ish male caller.

I was hoping that more people had heard the broadcast because I think that oftentimes “big girls” are overlooked in the love department. That’s news to nobody, right?

But here’s something to ponder:
I think people avoid touching heavier people because they assume that we’re ashamed of your “touching our fat” – you know, like all those skinny girls who claim they have a roll – and because we know that you’re avoiding touching us, we become ahamed of our fat, which reinforces to the skinny crowd the theory that it must be absolutely repulsive.

It very well may just be a vicious circle.

Look, I’m not on here advocating for being a fat chick, and I’m not bemoaning any “fattist” attitudes of the world at large. All I’m saying is – don’t assume I have issues. I’ll show them to you my damn self, thank you.

And, you know, hug your chubby friends or something. You never know – it may bring about a paradigm shift in you both!

 

One Response to “Retracting Before Impact.”

  1. Amy Says:

    Namesake–This is my favorite blog yet. You rule!!!

    Hug a chubby friend – that needs to be a bumper sticker or something!!!


Leave a Reply

