Notes from a LiteraryVixen

Snarks and Randoms for Your Enlightenment.

Get a (Vice) Grip. February 7, 2008

Filed under: Randoms — theliteraryvixen @ 1:10 pm

NOTE: Yes, I am aware that it’s VISE grip, when speaking of the tool. And if you were going to point that out to me . . . you may be a tool yourself.

Anyhow, on to today’s topic.

A vice is defined as a moral weakness or character flaw; some habit recognized as “bad” that is rather unshakeable.

Everyone has vices. Some people smoke. Some people bite their nails. Some people gamble. Some people eat junk food. Some people drink too much. Some people watch reality television.

I don’t think it’s necessarily bad to have a vice. My problem, however, is that I have too many of them. And that’s just inviting weakness into my life, which I definitely don’t have enough time for.

I procrastinate, I smoke, I eat unhealthy things, I don’t fold my laundry right when it comes out of the dryer, I choose extra sleep rather than being fully prepared for the day, I watch too much television, I drink, I don’t keep in touch with family and friends who are far away, I close myself off emotionally, I . . . well, you get the point.

This is my year to tackle my vices. Of all people, I know how to recognize and confront issues – I should certainly be able to handle these trivial matters.  

Already, I have a three-step plan to quit smoking by my birthday (April 1). I folded every piece of laundry in the house last night. I don’t keep processed foods in the house. And TV is off by 11:00 p.m. on weeknights, to facilitate good sleep, starting this week. 2008 will be my year to take charge and kick my vices to the curb!

But, of course, my favorite and longest-standing vice is being a procrastinator.

Hmmm.

Maybe 2009 sounds better?

 

Leave a Reply

