Notes from a LiteraryVixen

Snarks and Randoms for Your Enlightenment.

Welcome to Spinsterville. Population: One. January 30, 2008

Filed under: Dating — theliteraryvixen @ 8:56 pm

Well, it’s official. I am the last remaining unmarried person in my immediate family.

Not like this is extremely new or anything. After all, my eldest brother (32) has been married for eleven years this fall, and my other brother (30) has been practically married for 12 years. But, since he got actually married on Wednesday evening, it just makes my single state that much more apparent.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I am not moping or complaining about this. At this point in my life, I feel like I have enough balls in the air without adding a relationship on top of it. And, I’m not planning on procreating, so the whole biological clock is thankfully not an issue.

I think it’s a peer pressure thing.  It’s kind of annoying to be the odd number to all family gatherings. The appearance of my nephew, Ben, has helped for the last five years, but now that he’ll be welcoming a sibling in December, it’s going to be back to uneven group size again very soon.

Plus, as any singleton will tell you, unmarried children who live in close proximity to their parents bear additional responsibilities. For example, since the day I moved out I have been called to watch the family pets every time my parents have to leave them and go out of town. Since they do this a lot every summer, I can pretty much count on ten weekends a year living out of a suitcase in my childhood home.

Because, after all, what does it matter where a single person stays?  Not like we have any reason to go home, right?

Okay, now I am complaining. But it does get old. If only one could get all the perks of being a twosome (additional income, splitting household duties, the respect of the outside world) with none of the annoying parts (sharing the blankets/remote, compromises and time commitments). That would be perfect.

Oh, well.  Back to reality!

Seriously, though, given the choice at this particular moment in time, I prefer the autonomy of the single life. With work and school, my schedule is pretty full, and I like being able to add on extracurricular activities (happy hours, dinner out, concerts, etc.) without having to check with anyone or coordinate schedules. So, for the meantime, I will bear the small annoyances of being a prime number at many outings with pride. The circumstances seem to work for me.

 

Leave a Reply

