Notes from a LiteraryVixen

Snarks and Randoms for Your Enlightenment.

It’s Not a Tumor. January 30, 2008

Filed under: Randoms — theliteraryvixen @ 9:04 pm

I sometimes feel like there’s a little part of my brain that is almost an entirely separate entity.  It’s the part that tells me to do things that I know I shouldn’t do . . . and it knows how to get its way. 

Don’t get scared!  I don’t hear voices.  I have no inclination to either climb a clocktower or work for the U.S. postal service, and I do not own multiple copies of Catcher in the Rye (actually, I don’t even own one – I hated that book). 

So what am I talking about, then? 

Well, it seems that this little rebellious part of my brain hates mornings.  HATES them.  And, evidently, first thing in the morning my defenses are down, and this little morning-hating chunk of brain cells can convince my rational self of anything: 
“Of COURSE you can go back to sleep for five minutes!” 
“Why, certainly, you can lay here and listen to the end of this song without falling back to sleep!” 
(and, my favorite) 
“No, you didn’t already hit the snooze button – the alarm hasn’t even gone OFF yet!” 

That rebellious little part of my brain necessitated the world’s record in getting out the door on Wednesday.  I had gone out the night before, which was fun, but not the smartest decision I have ever made.  Got home at around 2:00 a.m., slept fitfully (darn you, Sir JaegerBomb!), and woke up with 15 minutes to get out the door.  I think I shampooed so fast that smoke rose from my fingertips. But I did it! [However, the lack of sleep and strange start to the day showed later, when I ordered a sandwich for lunch.  Five minutes after I placed my order, a reminder message popped up on my computer, informing me that I was supposed to be meeting a friend for Thai food in 15 minutes.  I had to pick up my sandwich (Lunch #1), and put it away for dinner before joining my already-waiting friend for Lunch #2.  Oops.] 

One of these days, I will learn how to silence the little morning-hating liar in the back of my brain, and will roll out of bed each day refreshed and ready for the day . . . every day. But, until then, take pity on me and the constant battle in my head: don’t schedule anything for me before 10:00 a.m.  It just gets him all riled up.

 

Leave a Reply

