Notes from a LiteraryVixen

Snarks and Randoms for Your Enlightenment.

In Praise of Hermitism. January 30, 2008

Filed under: Randoms — theliteraryvixen @ 9:06 pm

Sometimes, I think socializing is way overrated.

You meet someone who you think is really cool, that you would want to add to your circle of friends . . . and then you discover how wrong you were.  They turn out to be lame or one dimensional or, worst of all, a total CHOAD.

Multiple encounters like this can harden your soul, until there’s a fairly impenetrable shell around you, impeding even the people who you would like to let in.  It’s a lose-lose situation.

Recently, someone asked me “if I could go back in time and give one piece of advice to my younger self, what would I say and when?” I told them that I would go back to my 12-year-old self, and let me know that it does get better – that people DO grow out of middle schoolishness.  Right now, at this moment, I don’t know that I would actually do so.  I think middle school politics, the lameness and the superficiality that create it, are actually in existence more than we, as adults, would like to admit.

Don’t get me wrong; I am not generalizing that all people, or even most, are like this.  However, it is disheartening how often it happens.  I’m not saying that I’m ready to cash in my chips and go live in solitude in a cave somewhere (especially because caves rarely have Internet access and climate control), but it certainly does make me loathe to speak to the random.

[sigh] Oh, well.  Onward and upward.

 

Leave a Reply

