Notes from a LiteraryVixen

Snarks and Randoms for Your Enlightenment.

The Sword of Damocles. January 18, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — theliteraryvixen @ 4:01 pm

Yesterday, I made the mistake of reading my horoscope.

I used to read them everyday, and have never put much stock in their predictive abilities. I do believe that a person’s birth month has some strange effect on their personality, but have never thought that the stars could foretell my future.

But for some reason, yesterday’s horoscope really affected me. Maybe it’s just that I’m a little stressed out, or that I hadn’t read any in months and months, but this one got my attention. Here it is:

“A message will come your way today that creates more confusion in your life. In part, it’s because there will be no details included — just cryptic words or images that are supposed to signify something to you, but don’t. Before you ask what was intended, sit with this message for a while. If you concentrate on it long enough, and determine what episode from your past it reminds you of, you will probably discover its meaning before the end of the day.”

So I was ready ALL DAY for this cryptic message. Checking e-mail obsessively, wondering what on Earth it could be about. Because there’s nothing I hate worse than someone telling me that they have bad news, but not telling me right then what that bad news IS! The anticipation of whatever the problem could be is always far worse than the problem itself.

And then I realized: perhaps the horoscope ITSELF was the cryptic message. That put me in a much better mood.

Sadly, I didn’t realize this until today. So, yesterday’s stress was kind of a waste, cosmically-speaking.

 

Leave a Reply

